Minority Parties Move To Upset APC House Leadership


Lawmakers from different political parties in the minority group on Tuesday met to pull an upset against the All Progressives Congress (APC).


Elected lawmakers from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Labour Party (LP), New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP), All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), Social Democratic Party (SDP), Young Progressives Party (YPP), and African Democratic Congress (ADC) were in attendance at the event.

READ ALSO: Remove Ari As REC In Adamawa Rerun Polls – PDP

Speaking on the collaboration, Dachung Bagos, a member of the PDP from Plateau State, said the minority parties are now the “greater majority”

Aliyu Madaki, an NNPP member from Kano State urged members to put aside their differences, noting that “minority parties can control the House”.

It would be recalled that the APC has 162 members-elect, while the minority parties have 163 members. However, there are 31 seats yet to be determined.

Abdulmumin Jibrin, a lawmaker from Kano State, also urged the new lawmakers to shun invitations for meetings by politicians.

It would be recalled that the ruling party is yet to make a pronouncement on the zoning of the offices.

READ ALSO: Elections Are Over, Lets Build New Bauchi – Governor Bala Mohammed

However, several lawmakers have declared interest in running for the office.

Deputy Speaker Idris Wase, Yusuf Gagdi, Abdulraheem Olawonyi and others have declared interest in the position.

Trending video of the day:

 Photo credit: Getty

Leave a Reply