YPP, APGA, Get Chairmanship Positions As Speaker Reshuffles Five Reps Standing Committee

The speaker of the House of Representatives, Tajudeen Abbas has announced the reshuffling of about five standing committees announced last month before the House went on vacation.

In a statement he personally signed, the speaker said the reshuffling is to take care of vacancies created by the appointment of some members as ministers by President Bola Tinubu.

In the reshuffled leadership of the five standing committees, Mahmud Abdullahi (APC, Niger) takes charge of the House Committee on the Army which was left vacant during the last exercise.

READ ALSO: Cost Of Governance: Disquiet Over Nearly 3, 000 Aides For Akpabio, Abbas

Abdullahi was hitherto announced as the chairman of the House Committee on Hydrological Services and would be replaced by Pascal Agbodike (APGA, Anambra).

Agbodike was not assigned to any committee during the last exercise when APGA got only two vice chairmanship positions.

Denis Idahosa, who was assigned to the Committee on Digital and Electronic Banking, was moved to the House Committee on Healthcare Services as chairman to replace Tanko Sununo who had been appointed minister by the president.

Emmanuel Ukpong-Udo (YPP, Akwa Ibom) would take over from Idahosa as chairman of the House Committee on Electronic and Digital Banking from his former Committee on Institutional Reform.

READ ALSO: Speaker Abbas Bow Out Recommendation Seeking To Release Nnamdi Kanu

Also, Bukar Talba (APC, Borno) has been moved over to the House Committee on Institutional Reforms from her earlier position as Chairman of the Committee on Women in Parliament.

The position of the chairman of the House Committee on Women in Parliament is however vacant.

The speaker said that “the appointments shall take immediate effect, while the legislative record shall be updated upon resumption of the House from recess.”


Trending Video Of The Day;

Photo Credit: Getty

Leave a Reply