Sunday, October 1, 2023

Two Speakers Emerge In Nasarawa House Of Assembly

- Advertisement -

Two different Speakers emerged in the seventh Nasarawa State House of Assembly on Tuesday.

They are the immediate past Speaker, Rt. Hon. Ibrahim Balarabe-Abdullahi, who is seeking a third term as Speaker and Hon. Daniel Ogazi, a member representing Kokona East constituency in the Assembly.

While Balarabe-Abdullahi was elected at a sitting which took place at the Ministry for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs, Ogazi emerged as Speaker from the proceedings at the State Assembly complex.

The situation at hand indicates that Balarabe-Abdullahi and Ogazi are to serve as the Speakers of the 7th Assembly in the state except for an external intervention on the matter.

READ ALSO: Reno Omokri Reels Out President Tinubu’s Achievement In One Week

Our correspondent reports that before the elections which produced both Speakers, a press statement was earlier issued by the acting Clerk of the House, Ibrahim Musa, indicating that the inauguration of the 24 members-elect and the election of a new Speaker of the Assembly had been postponed indefinitely.

Security operatives barricaded the entrance and prevented everyone, including 13 out of the 24 members-elect from gaining access to the assembly premises.

READ ALSO: God Gave APC Opportunity To Repent From Its Sins – Wike

The 13 members-elect are believed to be supporters of Hon. Daniel Ogazi, who is a member of the All Progressives Congress but collaborating with members-elect from the opposition political parties, while 11 members were loyal to Balarabe-Abdullahi, who is also a member of the APC in the state.

Trending video of the day;

Photo Credit: Getty 

- Advertisement -

Related Articles

- Advertisement -

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles