Thursday, January 27, 2022

Liverpool’s Virgil van Dijk Wins PFA Players’ Player of the Year Award

- Advertisement -

Dutch defender Virgil van Dijk has won the Professional Footballers’ Association Player of the Year awards for 2018-19.

Liverpool defender Van Dijk, 27, beat Raheem Sterling, Bernardo Silva, Sergio Aguero, Sadio Mane and Eden Hazard in the vote by his fellow players.

Manchester City forward Sterling won the men’s Young Player of the Year. City also provided winners for two other awards, with England forward Georgia Stanway claiming the women’s young player prize and England captain Houghton receiving the PFA Special Achievement award.

Van Dijk succeeds Liverpool team-mate Mohamed Salah, who won in 2017-18, and is the first defender to take the award since Chelsea centre-back John Terry in 2004-05.

Photo Credit: Getty

Also Read:  Manchester United Could Sign Gareth Bale From Real Madrid For Just £5million Fee...But There’s A Catch
- Advertisement -

Related Articles

- Advertisement -

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles