“By the power conferred on me by the APC National Working Committee, I declare Chief Timipre Marlin Sylva as the winner of this election.”

After declaring the result, the panel went further to conduct an affirmation exercise with five ad-hoc delegates from each of the 105 wards inside the party’s secretariat in the state capital to affirm the outcome of the process.

READ ALSO: Ahmed Ododo Emerges Kogi APC Governorship Candidate

Sylva resigned his office in March to contest the Bayelsa governorship primaries of the APC.

He ruled the state from 2007 to 2012 on the platform of the PDP, but the party denied him a second-term ticket.

The former minister eventually defected to the APC and emerged as its governorship candidate in 2015 but he was defeated by the then-incumbent governor, Seriake Dickson of the PDP.

Bayelsa apcTrending video of the day;

Photo Credit: Getty