Speaker: Five Aggrieved Aspirants Team Up Against Abbas

The aspirants for the office of the Speaker of the House of Representatives in the coming 10th National Assembly, who are aggrieved with the zoning plan of the All Progressives Congress (APC), are grouping against the party’s adopted candidates.

Top contenders for the speaker’s seat, some of whom are in the current leadership of the 9th House, opposed the move by the APC to announce consensus candidates without due consultation with stakeholders in the chamber.

READ ALSO: “Daddy Adeboye Has Now Found His Voice” – DJ Switch Mocks Pastor Adeboye

The National Working Committee of the APC had on Monday officially announced a former Minority Leader of the Senate and immediate past Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Senator Godwin Akpabio, from the South-South, as its consensus candidate for the position of President of the Senate.

Chairman of the Senate Committee on Appropriation, Senator Barau Jibrin, from the North-West, was nominated for the position of the Deputy President of the Senate.

In the House, the seat of Speaker was zoned to the North-West, with Tajudeen Abbas, as the consensus candidate.

Trending video of the day;

Photo Credit: Getty 

Leave a Reply