South-West States To Reopen Schools On August 3 For WASSCE

The six south-west states( Lagos, Ogun, Oyo, Ondo, Osun and Ekiti) have agreed to reopen schools in August to enable graduating students sit for the West African Senior Secondary School Certificate Examination (WASSCE).

The states’ commissioners for education and special advisers on education and State Universal Education Board (SUBEB) reached the agreement to hold WASSCE at a virtual meeting organised by the Development Agenda for Western Nigeria (DAWN) Commission on Wednesday.

They agreed on the need for south-west states to implement a 2016 plan to establish a regional examination body similar to the Interim Joint Matriculation Board (IJMB) in the north.The states will approach the federal government to seek a postponement of the WASSCE by at least three weeks from the proposed resumption date.

The states will later approach WAEC to seek a postponement of the examination to the week beginning August 24. The schools are to appoint incident managers and classroom wardens while there will also be a designation of quality assurance department for each state to issue a safety compliance certificate to each of the schools before reopening.

They also added that each state will encourage intensive advocacy campaigns to stakeholders, including parents, teachers, caregivers, school owners and pupils on what is expected of them when schools reopen. They also called on WAEC to encourage Computer-Based Tests (CBT) in the future. Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba, minister of state for education appealed to state governments who have agreed to reopen schools to reconsider the action due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
Photo Credit: Getty

Leave a Reply