Tuesday, June 6, 2023

Senate President, Ahmad Lawan Wins Yobe North Senate Seat

- Advertisement -

The Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, has won the senatorial election for Yobe North, in Yobe State.

Ahmed Lawan KOKO TV NGThe Senate president was formally declared the winner on Sunday night by the Independent National Electoral Commission which announced that Lawan polled 91,318 votes, representing 74.7 per cent of the total valid votes (122,193), to defeat his closest rival, Bello Ilu of the Peoples Democratic Party who polled 22,849 votes.

This is the seventh parliamentary election won consecutively by Lawan into the National Assembly since 1999, the first two of which gave him a ticket to the House of Representatives while the last five gave him a ticket to the Senate.

Senate Passes Bill To Allow Candidates Without Political Parties Contest In Elections

Photo Credit: Getty

- Advertisement -

Related Articles

- Advertisement -

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles