Sunday, October 1, 2023

Mudashiru Obasa Re-Elected Lagos Speaker

- Advertisement -

Rt. Hon. Mudashiru Obasa has been re-elected to lead the Lagos State House of Assembly as Speaker for the third consecutive time.

Speakership tussle: Lagos 9th Assembly ends, lawmakers-elect okay Obasa as Speaker -The lawmakers also elected Hon. Mojisola Lasbat Meranda, representing Apapa Constituency 1, as the Deputy Speaker.

Obasa was unanimously re-elected on Tuesday after a proclamation of the 10th Assembly by Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu.

READ ALSO: Reps Urge Tinubu To Probe Nigeria Air Project

The Lagos helmsman was represented by Deputy Governor Obafemi Hamzat, accompanied by top government officials.

Obasa, the most ranking member of the House, was nominated by Hon. Temitope Adewale and seconded by Hon. Sylvester Ogunkelu.

Deputy Majority Leader in the 9th Assembly, Hon. Noheem Adams, representing Eti-Osa Constituency 1, was elected as Majority Leader.

READ ALSO: Zamfara Killlings: Buhari Led Us Here Not Tinubu – Shehu Sani

Hon. Adedamola Kasunmu, the representative of Ikeja Constituency II, is the new Deputy Majority Leader.

Hon. Mojeed Fatai of Ibeju Lekki 1 was elected as the Chief Whip, while Hon. David Setonji (Badagry Constituency II) was elected Deputy Chief Whip.

Trending video of the day:

Photo credit: Getty

- Advertisement -

Related Articles

- Advertisement -

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles