Wednesday, November 30, 2022

NFF Election: Gusau Elected As The New Chairman Of The Glass House

- Advertisement -

Ibrahim Musa Gusau on Friday becomes the 40th President of the Nigeria Football Federation.

Gusau was elected as the new NFF President at NFF’s 78th Elective Congress in Benin, the Edo State capital.

He polled 21 votes to defeat his closet challenger, Barrister Seyi Akinwunmi, who got 12. The second runner-up, erstwhile League Management Committee Chairman, Shehu Dikko, garnered six votes.

READ ALSO:NFF Election: I Don’t Have A Favourite Candidate – Amaju Pinnick

Prior to the 77th General Assembly of the NFF’s Executive Committee, which took place on Thursday August 18 at the Best Western Hotel, Victoria Island, Lagos, Pinnick had on several occasions said he would not be running for the third term, having served two terms.

While he may have come out to say he won’t be contesting for the presidential position, there were fears that he still had the intention of staying on as the NFF boss for a third term.

READ ALSO: I’ve No Plans To Run For Third Term; NFF President Amaju Pinnick

However, at the AGA, Pinnick confirmed that he would not run for a third term, thus putting an end to his reign as the president of the Nigeria football governing body after eight years.

Also Read:  BBNaija: I Own A House In Ikoyi – Sheggz Says He Might Not Win The Grand Prize Because Of His Wealth

Pinnick reign as the NFF boss was marred with many irregularities, especially the treatment of the falconets, after their elimination at the 2022 U-20 world cup in Costa-Rica.

NFFTrending video of the day;

Photo Credit: Getty

- Advertisement -

Related Articles

- Advertisement -

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles