Thursday, August 18, 2022

Asisat Oshoala Wins CAF Women Player Of The Year For The Fifth Time

- Advertisement -
Footballer Asisat Oshoala sets a record as she wins CAF Women Player of the Year for the fifth time.

Super Falcons and Barcelona Femeni striker, Asisat Oshoala became the first player, both men and women, to win the CAF Player of the Year award five times when she announced the winner on Thursday.

READ ALSO: Asisat Oshoala Makes History, Wins Treble With Barcelona

Only Perpetua Nkwocha, Yaya Toure and Samuel Eto come close with four. She beat Ajara Nchout Njoya (Cameroon and Inter Milan) and Zambia international Grace Chanda (Zambia and BIIK Kazygurt) to the award.

Asisat OshoalaThe 27-year-old was recognised for the role she played in Barcelona’s league title-winning season where he scored twenty goals and emerged the top scorer in the league despite being on the sidelines for a long period of time due to injury.

She led the charge for a treble – the Spanish Women’s Super Cup, Copa de la Reina and the Primera Division. The injury also hampered Oshoala’s outing on the international stage. Having missed qualifiers and international friendlies for the Super Falcons, she was ruled out of the Women’s Africa Cup of Nations just one game into the tournament.

Also Read:  Police Arrest Bank Robber Whilst Treating His Gunshot Wounds
Outbrain Advertisements

READ ALSO: Super Falcons Striker Asisat Oshoala Nominated For UEFA Women’s Team Of The Year 2020
She is the fourth Nigerian woman after Mercy Akide (2001), Nkwocha (2004, 2005, 2010 & 2011) and Cynthia Uwak (2006 & 2007) to win the most priced continental football award.

Asisat Oshoala

Trending video of the day

Photo Credit: Getty

- Advertisement -

Related Articles

- Advertisement -

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles