Tuesday, June 6, 2023

Election 2023: APC National Chair Loses Senatorial Zone To SDP’s Wadada

- Advertisement -

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the candidate of the Social Democratic Party for the Nasarawa West Senatorial District election, Aliyu Wadada, as the winner of Saturday’s election in the area.


Wadada is expected to replace Senator Abdullahi Adamu, who had vacated his seat in the Red Chamber of the National Assembly after emerging as the National Chairman of the ruling All Progressives Congress.

Announcing the results of the election on Monday in Keffi, headquarters of the Nasarawa West Senatorial District, the Returning Officer of the election, Prof Nasir Baba, declared Wadada of the SDP as winner having polled 96,488 votes to beat the APC senatorial candidate, Shehu Tukur, who scored 47,717 votes.

READ ALSO: APC’s Famous Structure Not Real Ideology Or System But Political Theft And Violence – Ireti Doyle

“I, Associate Prof. Nasir Baba, hereby certify that I am the senatorial returning officer for the 2023 Nasarawa West Senatorial District election, held on 25th February, 2023. The election was contested. The candidates received the following votes:

“Jatau Justice of ADC received the total sum of 1,117 votes; Bala Tongorma of LP 33,228; Wakil Kabiru of NNPP 2,667 votes; Umar Musa Galadima of PDP, 46,820; Jibrin Sani Shehu of ZLP 880 votes.

READ ALSO: 2023 Election: Salam Wins For Second Term, Beats APC’s Atanda Bello In Osun

“That Aliyu Wadada Ahmed of the SDP, having satisfied the requirements of the law, is hereby declared the winner and is returned elected,” the Returning Officer added.

APCTrending video of the day;

Photo Credit: Getty 

- Advertisement -

Related Articles

- Advertisement -

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles